top of page

The Naked Mole Rat by Liz Wride

Send Nudes.




The message is simple; the directions clear.


So I do.


The first image is full-frontal: The Naked Mole Rat.


The user disconnects in a string of expletives.


The next guy gets a photo of a Sphynx Cat in all its hairless glory. It’s what he asked for . . . in a roundabout way.


I send images of the pink and wrinkled hairless rat, the greyish blub of a bald guinea pig breed, and a gleaming silky flash of a dolphin. The final picture is of a naked dog breed: the Peruvian hairless dog.


I watch as my inbox fills with responses: blood boiling beneath flesh, raw nerves exposed.


I feel guilty when I close the app.


Did any of those animals consent to the pictures?

 

LIZ WRIDE is a writer from Wales. Her short fiction has recently appeared in Pop To Mag . . ., Apocalips Publishing, and Turnpike Magazine. Her 2015 story, Potato, was shortlisted for ELLE UK’s Talent Award. She has forthcoming pieces in VampCat Magazine and Cabinet of Heed.

bottom of page